![]() |
|
#1
| |||
| |||
| hi all,can anyone recommend any sites which are free and safe to download add ons for flight sim 2004.cheers das. |
|
#2
| |||
| |||
| Do plenty of Google searches, but if it turns up nothing, try a bittorrent trawler such as Link Removed Then, if you still can't find what you want, try signing up for a private bittorrent website such as EDIT (which I am a member of, and can get you an invite if you like). |
|
#3
| |||
| |||
| Torrents are illegal and will not be discussed on this site. |
|
#4
| |||
| |||
| Torrents are not illegal. If they contain pirated material then yes they are, but if they don't they are not. Due to the fact that torrent trackers have to ability to host torrent files without taking responsibility for them makes it easy for pirated software to come about, but it does not make bittorrent itself illegal; that would be like saying DVD burners are illegal because they have the potential to burn illicit DVD's, but it just isn't ethical to ban their use altogether due to the fact that a proportion of people still use them for legal processes. Dasray was looking for add-ons to Flight Simulator 2004 (mods, user created content etc) which is not illegal. Even large, respected companies such as the operators of the Opera web browser use Bittorrent to allow people to download their software. It is a relatively safe, reliable and cheap method of sharing files without the need for a company to put thousands of dollars into buying computer equipment to run online servers to in turn provide people with the files. |
|
#5
| |||
| |||
| Explain it to the site owner. I am sure he will understand your rationalization. http://www.opera.com/download/ Show me where they are using Torrents to give away their product. Torrents, free software and file sharing are completely different things. We know what Torrent sites are for so again. DO NOT link to any! |
|
#6
| |||
| |||
| Looks like I slipped up there in my haste to prove you wrong. Opera doesn't use bittorrent so people can download their files, they have integrated a bittorrent engine into their web browser. And although a lot of the stuff on torrent tracker websites is illegal, there is still a good amount that is legal. Sorry if I caused a problem or broke any rules though :). |
|
#7
| |||
| |||
| Yea, I noticed that Opera is advertising the bittorrent engine in the new build. Must be trying to pull in more users. Any way. No problems. We just have to put the integrity of this site ahead of all else. OK, back on topic.......... |
|
#8
| |||
| |||
| I don't think he's coming back anyway, I kinda "broke" the topic. |